Care Team

The Care Team is Wooster’s behavioral support team that provides coordinated support for the entire campus community: students, faculty and staff. Care Team members are trained to offer a well-rounded, holistic support system for individuals experience a broad range of concerns, to intervene in disruptive behaviors before they pose a threat to the individual and/or college community, and to assess risk and develop appropriate plans to mitigate that risk.

The mission of the College of Wooster’s Care Team is to assist when a student experiences personal, emotional, academic, or medical concerns that may interfere with their overall well-being, their success as a student, or the safety of the college community.  The Care Team uses a proactive, collaborative, and objective approach to identify, assess, and intervene to support success while balancing community safety.  This team of multidisciplinary professionals collaborate with the individual of concern to facilitate appropriate and timely interventions. 

The Care Team is Committed to:

  • To assist individuals in meeting their academic/professional/personal goals to thrive while at The College of Wooster.
  • To demonstrate empathy, respect for individuals and their multiple identities, and use professional practices in support of community well-being and safety.
  • To communicate effectively across campus (e.g., departments, divisions, groups, teams) to promote the health and safety of all members of campus.
  • To be proactive in identifying, assessing, and responding to student behaviors and assess potential risk to the campus community.
  • To provide resources for students, faculty, and staff

How to Refer Someone

Fill out the Care Team Referral form. A member of the team will review this information within 24 hours Monday – Friday.

Please note: This is not an emergency contact form.

If you believe someone may pose an immediate threat to the health and safety of themselves or others, call Campus Safety immediately at 330-263-2590 or 9-911.

When to Refer Someone

Refer someone if you notice:

  • They express thoughts of suicide or other acts of self-harm.
  • Their behavior reflects increased hopelessness or helplessness.
  • They become increasingly isolated, unkempt, irritable, disconnected, or unable to care for themselves.
  • They remain distressed following attempts by you and others to help.
  • They show aggressive or threatening behavior that poses a danger toward themselves or others.
  • Their academic performance or social interaction deteriorates.
  • Significant and marked changes in their behavior or mood.

Care Team Members

  • Ashley Reid – Associate Vice President of Student Affairs and Dean of Students (Chair)
  • Jennifer Bowen – Dean for Curriculum and Academic Engagement
  • Kevin Cooper – Interim Director of Campus Safety
  • Joe Kirk – Assistant Dean of Student
  • Amber Larson – Director of the Academic Resource Center
  • Anne Ober – Director of Wellbeing and Counseling Services
  • John Reynolds – Director of Residence Life


The Care Team participates in certification courses facilitated by the National Behavioral Intervention Team Association, as well as ongoing trainings.